SCC announces 2023 prestigious award winners

By Simon Pitman

- Last updated on GMT

© May Lim / Getty Images
© May Lim / Getty Images

Related tags SCC Cosmetic chemists

The Society of Cosmetics Chemists has announced it annual prestigious awards for cosmetic chemist professionals, ahead of the 77th Annual Scientific Meeting, to be held in New York City.

The awards ceremony will take place during the event, held at the Sheraton Hotel, Times Square, December 11 – 13, when four professionals will be recognized for their contributions to beauty and personal care formulation.

Here is the list of winners:

Maison G. deNavarre Medal Award: Dr. Roger McMullen

“This year, the Society is presenting its highest honor to Roger L. McMullen, Ph.D., in recognition of his industry expertise and contributions to advancing cosmetic science,” ​said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Chief Executive Officer of the Society. “We are pleased to recognize all that he has accomplished during his exceptional career.”

Dr. McMullen received the award in recognition of his continued support of the cosmetic industry through his various technical contributions. They cover a long list of achievements that have included: over 30 publications in peer reviewed journals and select textbooks, founding and editing the online magazine The Cosmetic Chemists, presenting at 11 SCC Annual Scientific Meetings, five DWI Hair Conferences, five NYSCC Symposia, and nine TRI Applied Hair Research Conferences.

He has also served as an instructor for SCC CEP Course since 2010 and TRI-Princeton’s Hair Science Course for numerous years, while teaching as an adjunct professor at Fairleigh Dickinson University in their cosmetic science program for over 10 years.

Dr. McMullen was also recognized as the recipient of the 1999 Young Scientist Award, the Hans A. Schaeffer Award in 2002 and 2019, Joseph P. Ciaudelli Award in 2012, 2018, 2021, and 2023, the 2013 Henry Maso Award, and the 2019 Des Goddard Award.

SCC Merit Award: Elisabeth Streland

“Liz Streland has been an outstanding advocate for all things SCC-related,” said O’Grady. “There is no one more deserving of this award. A tireless champion of the SCC and its mission, we thank Liz for her unmatched passion and service.”

During Streland’s 25+ years as an SCC member, she has served on the SCC National Constitution and Bylaws Committee, Committee on Chapter Affairs, organized student outreach initiatives, and held numerous positions in office, such as National President in 2021, Treasurer, Area III Director, Area Councilor, and California Chapter Chair.

Streland received a bachelor’s degree of science from Pennsylvania State University and earned a master’s degree in organizational management at the University of Phoenix. Streland was also recognized as a Marketing Fellow of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists in 2016 and was the recipient of the California Chapter Merit Award in 2012.

Florence Wall Women In Cosmetic Chemistry Award: Dawn Burke-Colvin

“We are elated to present the Society’s award honoring a woman’s scientific and leadership contributions in the cosmetics and personal care industry to Dawn Burke-Colvin,”​ said O’Grady. “Dawn is a well-respected formulation chemist, inspirational leader, and a distinguished contributor to the field of cosmetic science.”

Streland is the inventor of over 50 world-wide patents with an emphasis on skin care formulations and sunscreens and has shared authorship of several technical papers published in both scientific and cosmetic trade journals during her career. She also served as the Southwest Chapter Society of Cosmetic Chemists Secretary and Chair (2003). Her national service includes: Area III Director (2005), National Secretary (2008; 2010), Vice President (2013), and President (2014). She volunteered on various chapter committees, including Chair of Fellow Certification and Chair of Constitution and Bylaws, Committee on Chapter Affairs (COCA) Chair.

Robert A Kramer Lifetime Service Award: Gene Frank

“Gene Frank has been an outstanding advocate for SCC and an active volunteer well beyond the usual chapter board positions during his more than 50 years of membership”,​ said O’Grady. “It is our pleasure to recognize Gene with this award in recognition of his dedication and service to SCC.”

Frank has been an active member of the Society since 1972 and has dedicated his service to the Midwest Chapter’s education programs for their Teamworks event and Annual Scientific Symposium, including his roles as the programs’ Chair. He’s also responsible for creating the Midwest Chapter’s Scholarship Program, which he ran for over 20 years.

Frank’s professional accolades include mastering difficult cosmetic and personal care technologies like ethnic hair care (relaxers) and anti-perspirants/deodorants.

Related news

Show more

Related products

show more

Exosomes: Passing Trend or Transformative Reality?

Exosomes: Passing Trend or Transformative Reality?

Content provided by Naolys | 26-Mar-2024 | White Paper

Exosomes, microscopic vesicles naturally present in abundance within Plant Cells, have garnered significant attention within the scientific and cosmetic...

How Nutricosmetics Can Enhance Skin Beauty

How Nutricosmetics Can Enhance Skin Beauty

Content provided by Activ'Inside | 11-Dec-2023 | White Paper

In the ever-evolving realm of nutricosmetics, where inner wellness meets outer beauty, few natural ingredients have captured the spotlight quite like grapes.

Ultimate Antimicrobial Solution for BPC

Ultimate Antimicrobial Solution for BPC

Content provided by Acme-Hardesty Company | 11-Oct-2023 | White Paper

Sharomix™ EG10, a versatile broad-spectrum antimicrobial liquid blend for preserving personal care products, ensures safety at usage levels ranging from...

Acme-Hardesty Expands Product Line into Canada

Acme-Hardesty Expands Product Line into Canada

Content provided by Acme-Hardesty Company | 07-Jul-2023 | Product Brochure

Acme-Hardesty’s latest expansion into Canada includes Resplanta®, Botaneco®, and BYK from our partners Sharon Personal Care and Eckart Effect Pigments...

Related suppliers