L’Oréal creates scientific advisory research & innovation board

By Michelle Yeomans

- Last updated on GMT

L’Oréal creates scientific advisory research & innovation board

Related tags Technology Science

The french firm has put together a Scientific Advisory Board composed of nine distinguished scientists from diverse disciplines and of varied nationalities, whose mission it will be to bring ideas to the table that relates to L’Oréal Research’s fields of interests.

The move on L'Oréal's part is to prepare for the future through the exploration of emerging scientific and technological domains and the Board has already held its first meeting this month in Paris under the chairmanship of Jacques Leclaire, scientific director, L’Oréal Research and Innovation.

According to Laurent Attal, executive vice-president research and innovation; “The establishment of a Scientific Advisory Board is essential and is a first for L’Oreal. It is essential because science is the basis of all our innovations."

In a rapidly evolving industry, Attal says the Board’s reflexions will contribute to strengthening the link between science and beauty worldwide for L'Oréal, and as such will be a source of inspiration and guidance for the cosmetic giant.

Similar to most leading companies of the world, L'Oréal is not resting on the laurels of its success, and is therefore always investing in the relationship between science and beauty.

It is in those areas of investment that the VP says that the creation of the Board will be essential "in better understanding today’s dramatic development of science and technology, the power of the digital revolution, changes in modes of consumption and societal issues."

Composition of the Board

The following industry professionals are those who have been appointed to the Board, which will meet twice a year, presided by Jacques Leclaire who will lead the panel's discussions and reflections.

Pr Bonnie Bassler                                                                                                                                                                                                                 ​Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and Squibb and Professor of Molecular Biology at Princeton University

Pr Thomas Bieber                                                                                                                                                                                                                        ​Department Chairman and Professor of Dermatology and Allergy, University of Bonn, Germany

Pr Vanderlan da Silva Bolzani                                                                                                                                                                                                     ​Professor at the Institute of Chemistry São Paulo State University, Araraquara Brazil

Pr Elaine Fuchs                                                                                                                                                                                                                              ​Professor of Cell Biology and Development, Rockefeller University, NY

Pr Nina Jablonski                                                                                                                                                                                                           ​Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, Pennsylvania State University, PA

Pr Dominique Langevin
Director of Research, Laboratory of Solid State Physics, CNRS, University of Paris-Sud, France

Pr Samir Mitragotri
Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara California

Pr Jun Wang
Director BGI (Shenzhen) and Professor, University of Copenhagen

Pr René Wijffels
Chairman of the Bioprocess Engineering Group, Wageningen University, Netherlands

Click here​ to see the professors talk about their work in cosmetic research and development.


Related topics Formulation & Science

Related news