ICMAD Young Designer Awards ceremony is just around the corner

By Simon Pitman

- Last updated on GMT

The winner of last year's top prize, Travis Cuellar
The winner of last year's top prize, Travis Cuellar

Related tags University

February 18th is the date to note in your calendars for the 17th annual ICMAD Young Designers Awards, to be held in Newport Beach, California.

The event, which will be held in the evening at the Island Hotel, will include a dinner and a number of presentations that will honor the 135 students from 14 schools across the nation that entered into the competition.

The awards will honor the three students and two honourable mentions who will be highlighted during the ceremony for their outstanding contributions to cosmetic and personal care packaging design.

All-expenses trips and beauty facility tours

All the finalists are receiving all-expenses paid trips to California to attend the ceremony, together with tours of a number of  beauty manufacturing facilities including, Benchmark Cosmetic Laboratories and The Beauty Collection.

The awards serve to highlight some of the best up-and-coming talent the industry can expect to see, as well as providing inspiration to young packaging professionals and a platform for their first steps into their careers.

“Our Young Designers program encourages and develops future creative talent for the beauty industry by tapping into the higher education system and providing real-world experience,”​ said Pamela Jo Busiek, ICMAD president and CEO.

“This is a visionary way for ICMAD to help shape and ensure emerging creativity and ability among students to pursue an in-demand profession in cosmetics and personal care.”

Awards decided by panel of industry experts

The awards for the finalists will be decided by a panel of judges who are distinguished industry professionals, including Greg Chambers, CEO, Gordon Laboratories; Jani Friedman, VP, Dermstore; Chris James, VP, East Hills Industries; and Lindsay Pedder, VP Marketing, Joico.

The list of finalists vying for first, second, and third places and cash prizes includes: 

•    Stephen Finley from Colorado Mesa University
•    Emily Lora Harris from Colorado Mesa University
•    Nicole Shepherd from Academy of Art, Chicago

While honourable mentions and cash prizes will be awarded to:

•    Esther Betancourt from University of Las Vegas Nevada
•    Sarah El Mouden from Miami International University of Art & Design

Related news

Related products

Related suppliers

Follow us


View more